PDA

View Full Version : onboard sound issue

wikked
08-26-2003, 10:22 AM
heelo, im new to knoppix and linux for that matter... i decided to try knoppix because it was simply bootable from a cd... anyways, i ahve a soyo kt-333 dragon ultra platinum edition mobo, with onboard c-media cm8738 audio, i tried the "alsa" cheat ive seen so many use in the forums, but all that really did was now enable me to see the music playing in the equilizer on xmms. does anyone have anything in mind that i could do? as im said, im completely new to linux... but i learn well, so id appreciate any help whatsoever.thanks!

roadrunner
08-26-2003, 01:57 PM
Welcome to linux - !

I assume that your sound works fine when you boot with your native os, so I wont ask you to make sure that your speakers are plugged in and turned up. :wink:

1/ When you boot from the cd WITHOUT the alsa cheat, does xmms behave the same way? (you can see the eq working)

2/ with AND without the alsa cheat - if you go to the System>InfoCenter application and click on 'Sound" does your sound card info show up correctly? Are they the same regardless of the cheat?

3/ try menu>KNOPPIX>Configure>Soundcard Configuration to see what is found.

4/ try opening a shell (KNOPPIX>Root) and type '/etc/init.d/alsa-autoconfig' (no quotes)

5/ Which version CD are you using?

roadrunner
08-26-2003, 02:01 PM
Also -

from a shell type 'aumix -w 70 -v 70 -cd 70'
this will make sure that the volumes are properly set.

wikked
08-27-2003, 06:36 AM
hello, first of all id like to thank you for taking the time to reply!

ok now down to business.

1.yes, i can also see the equilizer without it, i guess last time i did it, it froze so i assumed it wasnt working right, but it didnt freeze this time. if something like this ever happens again how can i kill a process?

2. no, it doesnt show any sound card at all without the alsa cheat, but with the alsa cheat it shows it as pci, my audio is onboard.