PDA

View Full Version : can't install on new partition

stoneangel
08-28-2003, 05:06 AM
I'm a newbie. Someone partitioned my HD. I tried installing windows on hda1 and it wasn't working. (15gb of space) Only partially installed after two hours.
Currently I'm running off my knoppix CD and would like to install it on hda1.
How can I delete the partially installed windows and install knoppix?
Currently my boot sequence is set to boot off the CD.
When I don't have the CD in I get a C: prompt so I'm assuming windows is just taking up space on that partition.
In case you're wondering about the other partition it has all my old windows files on it. :roll:
Also is there a diagnostic tool on Knoppix to find out what could be wrong?

stoneangel
08-28-2003, 06:37 AM
I want to clean hda1 and partition it to put on knoppix, but cfdisk keeps wanting to use hda2 as primary linux and create a hda3 as a swap partition even though it can't load knoppix on hda2. I've checked the documentation, but there's no help on the subject.
Does anyone know how I can do this or get info?

rickenbacherus
08-28-2003, 02:00 PM
You can copy and paste your partition table from cfdisk. Post it here please. Here is a cfdisk how-to (http://knoppix.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3311&sid=b5cd80a061eecdf1ccfc8c6fdd17e6a1) that may explain partitioning a bit further for you. An easier tool to use would be qtparted. Simply open a terminal in Knoppix and enter sudo qtparted. That will launch a nice GUI app. You can add, delete and resize partitions with qtparted.