PDA

View Full Version : 3Com 11g Wireless LAN working!

HedRat
08-31-2003, 11:37 PM
Just this very minute got the 3CRWE154G72 802.11g card working - writing this now from the latest Knoppix on my laptop over my new wlan kit.

If anyone wants to know how to get this going, some hero has started the following project ISL3890 Linux Device Driver (http://ruslug.rutgers.edu/~mcgrof/802.11g), but needs some careful customising for Knoppix. I'll add my own notes later, but it's taken three days for me to work it out (don't laugh if you've done this already, I'm no guru).

HedRat

HedRat
09-02-2003, 11:31 PM
Here's how I got the PCMCIA WLAN card going. I'm no expert - so please correct any bits that could be improved. This was done on a fresh hdd install of the 26/7/3 knoppix. The Access Point was fresh out the box, all default. WEP is extra configuring, see the original source for this set of instructions in the link in the post above.

These instructions include the necessary knoppix kernel patch, xfs patch and debian method of inserting a newly recompiled kernel. Basically it is just the knoppix kernel with PCMCIA taken out.

Everything done as root (that's not a recommendation), starting from / ...

start a shell
#mkdir ISL
#cd ISL
#wget http://ruslug.rutgers.edu/~mcgrof/802.11g/packages/ISL3890-0.1.0.tar.gz
#wget http://kernel.org/pub/linux/kernel/v2.4/linux-2.4.21.tar.bz2
#tar -zxvf ISL3890-0.1.0.tar.gz
#tar -jxvf linux-2.4.21.tar.bz2
#ln -s /ISL/linux-2.4.21 linux
#cp /usr/src/knoppix-kernel.patch .
#patch -p0 < knoppix-kernel.patch

download latest xfs patch from ftp://oss.sgi.com/projects/xfs/download/patches/weekly-snapshot-patch/
#bunzip2 -c linux-2.4.21-xfs-2003-06-13.patch.bz2 | patch -d linux-2.4.21 -p1

#cd linux-2.4.21
#patch -p1 < ../ISL3890-0.1.0/patches/kernel-intersil.patch
#cp ../ISL3890-0.1.0/patches/isil_netlink.h include/linux/

#make mrproper
#make xconfig
--- load config from /usr/src/linux-2.4.21-xfs/.config