PDA

View Full Version : newbie question about USB support

uxbridge
09-03-2003, 10:11 AM
Hi
I'm very new to Linux. I've tried Knoppix 3.2 CD on my laptop and it worked very well. including recognition my memory stick USB card.
After that, I installed Knoppix into the HD and now for some reasons it does not seem to react to USB memory card insertion.
It worked with the CD, now it does not seem to work once it is installed.
Can somebody please help me how to sort this out?
Thank you

MattT
09-03-2003, 06:54 PM
This is a common problem. When you install Knoppix to hard drive it becomes Debian. In other words you lose all that fancy auto detection stuff and have to do everything the Debian way(manually). The best thing to do is to start the Knoppix CD. Then mount the USB stick. While your at it mount all of your removable drives(cdrom, floppy...) and use other things like the printer and modem. Then install Knoppix to the hard drive. Now all of the auto detected Knoppix settings will be copyed to the hard drive.

Your other option is to become a Debian geek :lol:

rickenbacherus
09-03-2003, 10:00 PM
If you don't want to reinstall then just do this:

Boot the Knoppix cd- copy the file named /etc/fstab somewhere. Perhaps to your hdd install. Now boot your hdd install- compare the two files. Rename your original /etc/fstab to something like /etc/fstab.orig, then copy the file from the booted cd into place- see if that gets you fixed.

You might also try this:

sudo rebuildfstab -r
mkdesktophdicons

aay
09-03-2003, 10:27 PM
I think rickenbacherus is correct. You really don't need to do a reinstall for this. It is true that after your hard drive install knoppix-autoconfig is no longer run. Hotplug should still be working though and that is all you really need to have usb devices detected. Of course you may then need to do a little editing on /etc/fstab but with a little reading you should be able to manage this pretty well. Post back if you need more help.

uxbridge