PDA

View Full Version : remaster knoppix in windows

thewretchedbeaver
01-21-2003, 06:22 PM
is there a way that i can remove and add programs to knoppix from a windows enviroment, because i'm very new to linux as a whole but i like it alot

thewretchedbeaver
01-21-2003, 06:27 PM
also pending enough ram on the computer, could it be possible to make a knoppix disk that would run counter strike straight from the knoppix disk, i know that this would take alot of ram, but it is a project i was thinking about

Carlos_E_Morimoto
01-21-2003, 07:35 PM
You dont need windows, you can use the knoppix Cd to remaster the Knoppix CD ;-) You just need a Linux partition with 3 GB of free space

01-21-2003, 08:29 PM
but the problem with remastering in knoppix is that it seems pretty technical and i will be remastering it at home on my windows system for use at the school computer lab computers, one of my main goals is to have it so it loads up gaim with my accounts and buddylists automaticly among other things i want to change such as swap mozilla for opera

Carlos_E_Morimoto
01-21-2003, 10:17 PM
I don't agree that is dificult.. You just need to past (with the center button of the mouse :-) the commands of the Knoppix Remastering How-to available in this website. Inside the chroot you just need to install the programs link in any other Linux, its really pretty simple.

You just need to try and post here if you have any problem.

01-21-2003, 11:51 PM
it's hard for someone who only knows windows to do the stuff in that how to maybe if there was an easier way, maybe something inside the linux gui

dvessey
01-22-2003, 02:56 AM