PDA

View Full Version : Newbie cant Use PCMCIA (LAN) on Toshiba Satelite

mike12
09-07-2003, 05:37 PM
Hello. I am a newbie. I installed Knoppix 3.2 (v.07.25-de) on my Notebook Toshiba Satelite 4100XCDT on HD. I enjoy it verry much. By and large all works fine. But there is one important Question/Problem:

How can I use (install) my PCMCIA (LAN)?
It is a CNet, Single Point 16 bit. The Notebook gots a simple i82365 PCMCIA Controller. In Bios I suppose the option "PCIC Compatible" is the right on.

I can`t find a special Driver from CNet.

Did I have to compile the Core?
On other Notebooks like myne It works with SUSE:
http://homepages.compuserve.de/hbuennig/toshiba_sat4080.html

In my german Book of "Debian Linux Guide" it is written to use "dbootstrap" while installing (?).
Question: Can I use ist also after Installing on HD? Where is dbootstrap and how can I start it?
Moreover there is something described with:
"... or use manually insmod and rmmod...." WHATs THAT?

My aim for the short next time beeing in Internet without MS. I have to go out over my Router (DHCP).

Wat should I do? Compile or use a tool? (Or something else?)

THX for help. -Greets, mike

didac
09-24-2003, 09:22 AM
The pcmcia controller is ok, I never experienced problems in linux with the i82365 PCMCIA Controller.

Is your card found?
run ifconfig as root if in the output there is no eth0, your card has probably not been configured. (and when you boot with the card in a slot, you probably heard two low toned beeps when pcmcia started)
Probably this only means you have to enter its description in the correct configuration file.

First find out what driver you lan card is supposed to have:
Search on the net for people using your type of card and linux.

As root run
cardctl ident 0 (first slot, or 1 second slot)
The output is like
product info: "Cnet", ".....", "...."
manfid : XXXXX, YYYYY
function: 6 (network)

Don't be surprised when something like