PDA

View Full Version : How to install OS

veitcha
09-12-2003, 01:05 AM
Sorry if this is a highly simple question, but I'm missing something.
I've got a scsi drive, and I've been able to load it, partition it, and format it. Currently it's
/dev/sda1 Ext2 45 MB
/dev/sda2 Linux Swap 450 MB
/dev/sda3 ReiserFS 25Gig
/dev/sda4 ReiserFS 48Gig

I figured I could use
/sda1 for /boot
/sda2 for swap
/sda3 for /
/sda4 for /var

How do I mount these correct, and install the OS to the hard disk?

Sorry if this answered in another post, but I can't find it.

If it is easy as kfx-hdinstall no need to reply.

Sorry been a long day.

Dave_Bechtel
09-12-2003, 01:35 AM
--I have no experience with the new installer (it's in /usr/sbin I think) but have some advice for your partition scheme. :)

--You can cut down sda1 to as little as 8MB for /boot unless you get really exotic with testing different kernels; even then 16MB should be plenty.

--You may also want to go the whole route and have partitions for /home (4Gig?) and /usr (8-10Gig?); then / could be something like 500MB.

--That's a whole lotta /var; you going to be doing a lot of webserving or making a dedicated-log server?

Sorry if this is a highly simple question, but I'm missing something.
I've got a scsi drive, and I've been able to load it, partition it, and format it. Currently it's
/dev/sda1 Ext2 45 MB
/dev/sda2 Linux Swap 450 MB
/dev/sda3 ReiserFS 25Gig
/dev/sda4 ReiserFS 48Gig

I figured I could use
/sda1 for /boot
/sda2 for swap
/sda3 for /
/sda4 for /var

How do I mount these correct, and install the OS to the hard disk?

Sorry if this answered in another post, but I can't find it.

Sorry been a long day.

Tech2k
09-12-2003, 01:43 AM

knx-hdinstall would be better ;)