PDA

View Full Version : Newbie dream:)

Jux
09-13-2003, 07:40 PM
Hi all konppix gurus - before i ask anithing i want to appologise for all the stupid questions that come to my mind that poison this forum, because i know very little about linux and less than that about knoppix.

OK - i found knoppix exiting becous of the live-CD feature. Becasue i AM a beginner and this is the thing for me. Well ... other than learning i want to get some practical use of this knoppix. I allso add that i have Win XP with NTFS file system, but for knoppix i am planning to make new 2G Fat32 partiton.

So i had an idea. Is it possible with live-cd (not hd install):

1. Make my own configuration of the op.system (sound card, internet, desktop...) and save it to this Fat32. Will there be the default linux folder tree (home, bin, mnt, dev ...) on my new 2G drive where i could find my own edited configuration files and other driver files?

2. With live-cd, can i install software. For example some small programming toolkit or somthing?

(so my idea of this knoppix was that, the system would work like so that all the files are from HDD and the ones that are not (most of them) it finds on CD - and i am not talking about any HD linux installation. I don't think that is possible, because i haven't find any info about that here. So is the small hd install and dual booting systems the closest solution fo my idea?)

4season
09-13-2003, 08:33 PM
You'll probably run into problems because FAT32 isn't case sensitive, and neither does it support file permissions. When running Linux, it'll certainly be possible to mount your FAT32 and NTFS partitions (NTFS is currently read-only), though unfortunately, Windows itself doesn't yet come with built-in ext 3 or ReiserFS support. Maybe there's some 3rd party add-on which will do the trick.

I suggest partitioning the drive like this:

hda1 NTFS (your current XP install)
hda2 (linux swapfile)
hda3 / (ext3 or Reiser)