PDA

View Full Version : Linksys WUSB12 / "block-major-2" err terminates au

phillfri
09-15-2003, 06:23 AM
I'm totally new to Linux so I apologize if my questiona are somewhat ignorant.

Firstly, I have no floppy on my Desknote computer, so I'm getting "Can't locate module block-major-2" error that terminates autoconfiguration on bootup. Google search indicates that solution is "alias block-major-2 off" entry in the modules.conf file.

Secondly, I note that the Knoppix probe configuration file (/etc/modutils/linux-wlan-ng) is set up to probe for a prism2_pci. The WUSB12 is obviously usb, and it would seem that the appropriate line item in the linux-wlan-ng file would be the prism2_usb line item - which is currently commented out. (The instructions in the file say to select the appropriate line item.)

My problem comes when I try to change either of these files, they will not let me write to them, even in root. So how can I accomplish these adjustments without being able to edit the necessary configuration files?

phillfri
09-15-2003, 07:27 AM
Well, I've narrowed this down a bit. Found usbview, and it shows that usb recognizes my usb floppy, my wusb12 prism2 wireless adapter and my usb mouse. The usb mouse works and the usb floppy works (once I figured out that I had to manually mount sda to get at it). But, running wavelan configuration still shows "No wireless network card found" despite the fact that usbview shows the adapter.

I tried the commands indicated in other threads:
added "iface wlan0 inet dhcp" to the network interface file.

then ran:
"wlanctl-ng wlan0 lnxreq_ifstate ifstate=enable" (ran ok)
"wlanctl-ng wlan0 lnxreq_autojoin ssid="SpeedStream" authtype=opensystem" (ran OK - yes, I have SpeedStream router)

But when I run the "ifup wlan0" command, I get the following error: "IBSS not started, result code=invalid_parameters. run parts: \etc\network\if-pre-up.d\linux-wlan-ng_pre-up exited with return code 1."