PDA

View Full Version : Synaptic

Fortran
09-18-2003, 05:55 PM
Hi guys,
Sorry, a bit off topic but Im totally stuck. Just installed knoppix to my hd yesterday and also installed synaptic. However, I downloaded 2 things today with synaptic "rutebook" and "cookbook". They both downloaded fine and in the synaptic list it says they are both installed, but where the HELL are they????? I have searched for them for ages, looked in the etc/apt folder, used the search function and searched for *.doc and rutebook and cookbook, but I cant find them anywhere??? Im sorry, but im a complete linux beginner, and was hoping to use these files to learn some stuff, but I cant even find them to do that!!! Is there anybody that can tell me where stuff downloaded/installed with synaptic ends up ? I cant seem to find these files anywhere>

Thanks to anybody that can help me.

All the best

Fortran

Dave_Bechtel
09-18-2003, 10:15 PM
' dpkg -L cookbook | less ' == Gives you a listing of the files inside the pkg. This is how I found the BitTorrent files. :) Sometimes you can ' |grep bin ' to see where the binaries went.

Hi guys,
Sorry, a bit off topic but Im totally stuck. Just installed knoppix to my hd yesterday and also installed synaptic. However, I downloaded 2 things today with synaptic "rutebook" and "cookbook". They both downloaded fine and in the synaptic list it says they are both installed, but where the HELL are they????? I have searched for them for ages, looked in the etc/apt folder, used the search function and searched for *.doc and rutebook and cookbook, but I cant find them anywhere??? Im sorry, but im a complete linux beginner, and was hoping to use these files to learn some stuff, but I cant even find them to do that!!! Is there anybody that can tell me where stuff downloaded/installed with synaptic ends up ? I cant seem to find these files anywhere>

Thanks to anybody that can help me.

All the best

Fortran

rickenbacherus
09-18-2003, 11:10 PM
As root do:

updatedb