PDA

View Full Version : No Sound from Toshiba 5005-s504

jtsai256
09-22-2003, 11:30 AM
Hello,

I am an EXTREMLEY new newbie at all of this, so bear with me.

I am using Knoppix verison 3.2 that boots from a CD-Rom. My computer is a Toshiba Satellite S5005-S504, and I have a problem with my onboard sound. I'm not quite sure what the specific problem is or how to fix it other than that the sound does not work. Has anybody else come across such a problem?

Thanks for your responses.

Fabianx
09-22-2003, 01:33 PM
Hello,

I am an EXTREMLEY new newbie at all of this, so bear with me.

I am using Knoppix verison 3.2 that boots from a CD-Rom. My computer is a Toshiba Satellite S5005-S504, and I have a problem with my onboard sound. I'm not quite sure what the specific problem is or how to fix it other than that the sound does not work. Has anybody else come across such a problem?

Thanks for your responses.

Try to boot with "knoppix alsa"

jtsai256
09-22-2003, 04:05 PM
Thanks for the tip Fabianx. Unfortunately I have no idea what that means since I'm really new at this stuff.

Stephen
09-22-2003, 09:08 PM
Thanks for the tip Fabianx. Unfortunately I have no idea what that means since I'm really new at this stuff.

When you start the CD and you get to the screen with the knoppix graphic there is a boot: prompt at the bottom of the screen this is where you would type in the knoppix alsa then enter a list other cheat codes (http://www.knoppix.net/docs/index.php/CheatCodes) you may need.

jtsai256
09-25-2003, 10:18 PM
Thanks, Fabianx and Stephen for helping me.
The ALSA cheat code doesn't seem to work.

Supposedly sound doesn't work for this laptop because it uses ACPI to do IRQ routing. I found a linux patch for ACPI support at:

http://sourceforge.net/project/showfiles.php?group_id=36832

and I need help 'installing' this patch. Thanks, everybody, for your help thus far.

jtsai256
09-30-2003, 06:14 AM
Hello,