PDA

View Full Version : hd install:difference between "knoppix-mode" &

violinist
10-05-2003, 12:08 AM
hallo all
I've read that the new version's installer has two options: "knoppix-mode"
system and "debian-mode" system, and understood that "knoppix-mode"
does some hardware detection on every boot.

does someone know more details about the difference ?

thanks a lot

ndrake
10-05-2003, 02:32 AM
From what I understand "knoppix-mode" basically acts just like you booted from the CD. "debian-mode" is a full debian testing/unstable distribution.

I've only done a "debian-mode" install, so I'm not 100% sure about "knoppix-mode".

EdlinUser
10-05-2003, 05:21 AM
I've been running knoppix-mode on a PII 450 (384 M RAM) for 3 months. Every morning when I boot up I thank Klaus Knopper.

I used Partition Commander to create 4 FAT32 partitions:
8 G for Win98
2 G for the CD files, next version CD files and misc.
500 M for the swap file.
9 G for my /home.
Booted Win98, downloaded Knoppix, burned it to a CD with Nero, Copied the files on the CD to 2 G partition. Rebooted and set BIOS to boot from CD, booted into Knoppix, clicked K=>KNOPPIX=>Root Shell (I love this!) and put a floppy in and entered:
dd if=/mnt/cdrom/KNOPPIX/boot.img of=/dev/fd0
The rare time I need Win98 I take the floppy out. I enter:
knoppix home=/dev/hda4 at the boot: prompt tho this may no longer be necessary with 9-24.
I clicked K=>KNOPPIX=>Configure and created the swap file.
I clicked K=>KNOPPIX=>Configure and created /home.
When I upgrade Knoppix I copy the CD files to the 2 G partition and create a new start up diskette.
Upgrading doesn't get any easier. And that persistent /home can be copied to USB 'thumb' drive and easily moved to another computer.
I love surfing with a smug attitude, Root me! ;-)
Thank you, Klaus Knopper.

violinist
10-05-2003, 05:08 PM
hallo all
two more questions:

are the files still compressed when copied to HD as knoppix-mode ?