PDA

View Full Version : Knoppix newbie!!!!!!!!!!

pbearseven
10-05-2003, 08:39 PM
I am a newbie so please be patient. I burnt Knoppix on a cd and everytime I try to boot, it says the following:File D:/Knoppix v3.2-2003-09-05-EN.ISO does not reside on a local fixed drive. The source drive,"D" may not be able to supply data fast enough to write to a recorder. This could cause a buffer underrun and result in an unusable disc. Do you wish to continue? I click yes and nothing happens.

Please tell me what I am doing wrong and what I can do to correct it.

Thank you
pbearseven

fingers99
10-05-2003, 10:38 PM
This is a pretty wierd message. Did you set the bios order to boot from CD first?

pbearseven
10-05-2003, 11:04 PM
No I did not. Please tell me how.

thank you
pbearseven

Stephen
10-05-2003, 11:37 PM
No I did not. Please tell me how.

thank you
pbearseven

When you boot you usually see a message telling you something like hit DEL or some other key to enter the setup. Before you do that though you are going to have to burn the disk properly though right now you have burned just the ISO file to the disk. You should look for the option in your burning program to make a bootable disk from an ISO image or something similar. BTW if you are on a high speed connection you may want to download a new ISO the latest version of knoppix is 3.3 on 2003-09-24.

pbearseven
10-06-2003, 01:41 AM
I'm sorry, I'm just not getting it.

pbearseven

xeerex
10-06-2003, 05:53 PM
If you CD-Rom is your D: drive, it sounds to me like you literally burned the iso file onto the CD rather than creating a CD from the iso.

Boot into Windows first, then put the CD in the drive. The go to My Computer and click the CD (D:). What do you see as teh contents?

pbearseven
10-06-2003, 07:35 PM
It says:Files currently on the cd. I double clicked it and it said Windows can't open this file.

pbearseven

xeerex
10-06-2003, 08:05 PM
Umm---it didn't show this:

Knoppix v3.2-2003-09-05-EN.ISO

In the window?