PDA

View Full Version : modprobe and x11

jnoblesr
10-06-2003, 06:40 PM
I am new to knoppix, I have the iso burned on a cd and when I boot up it goes thru the auto config then it says it can't find modprobe in slot 0, then after that it says it is loading x11.... and then my monitor restarts with nothing on the screen.
I have tried several cheat codes and always the same thing. What am I doing wrong. If I can use knoppix then I will feel better about trying Linux.I really want to get away from windows!!!

thanks, john

rickenbacherus
10-06-2003, 06:59 PM
What video card/chipset do you have? What cheatcodes are you using exactly and how?

jnoblesr
10-06-2003, 11:33 PM
I have a Radeon 7000 32MB video card. The cheat codes I used were in the help menu from the cd. I typed in the codes the way they were listed. I used all the codes from the help menu. I am using a p4 2.4ghz with an asus p4b533 motherboard. I built the computer myself, it runs great but I am interested in using Linux. I did not want to remove the windows xp installed now so I wanted to run Knoppix from the cd. I downloaded the file and burned the iso, then I went into the bios to have the computer boot from the cdrom. All the cheat codes ended up the same way. With the monitor restarting and nothing showing.

I am thankful for any help you can give me. John

rickenbacherus
10-07-2003, 02:39 AM
Well.....I still have no idea how you entered the cheat codes but I can say that my Radeon 7200 works just fine and is autodetected. It may be that your monitor is causing the troubles. What kind of monitor and what resolution do you usually use?

Try this:

boot: knoppix lang=us xmodule=ati

You can also add more parametrs like so:

boot: knoppix lang=us screen=1024x768 xmodule=ati noscsi nopcmcia

There is always the failsafe option too. If nothing else boot like so:

boot: failsafe

jnoblesr
10-08-2003, 01:56 PM