PDA

View Full Version : DRIVER INSTALLATION - NFORCE

scots_butcher
10-14-2003, 01:49 PM
Hi folks,

I'm a newbie and need some help from you guys...
I've just installed a Kurumin (Brazilian distr) on my HDD (partition hda4).
My problems:

1 - When I click on hda4 icon on desktop a pop-up window with an error warning displays the message:
"Impossible to mount device"
Error --> mount: /dev/hda4 already mounted or /mnt/hda4 busy

How can I solve this?

2 - I've got an Asus A7N8X(non-deluxe) mobo and my NIC card isn't detected. I've downloaded a nforce driver from NVidia's website (rpm file), however as I'm a newbie, I don't have a clue on how to install such driver.
I'd therefore appreciate if someone could give some tips or even post a tutorial.

Help is very much appreciated....

Cheers all!!!!

m_yates
10-14-2003, 03:52 PM
To install the nforce2 platform drivers, you need to download the *.tar.gz file, not the *.rpm file. Unpack the file by typing:

tar -xvzf <filename>.tar.gz

Then move to the newly created nforce directory:

cd nforce

Compile and install the drivers with (must be done as root):

make
make install

Now insert your network driver (as root):

insmod nvnet

Configure your network card (as root):

netcardconfig

You can select DHCP or other configuration. The network should now be up. To make sure the network driver is automatically loaded after reboot (as root):

cd /etc
kwrite modules

The text file that opens has a list of modules (drivers) that load during boot, add a line with "nvnet". Save the file and exit kwrite.

You are done!

As for your first question, what is hda4, a windows partition?

scots_butcher
10-14-2003, 04:09 PM
m_yates,

I´ll follow your instructions and try to make linux detect my NIC. Cheers for the time being!!!

regarding to hda4, the scenario is
HDD 80Gb partitioned under WinXP.
hda1 - WinXP partition (NTFS)
hda2 - Data partition (NTFS)
hda3 - Data partition (NTFS)