PDA

View Full Version : Apache is cranky.

deps
10-14-2003, 04:11 PM
Hello,

I have installed the latest knoppix to my hdd and is trying to set up apache.
I have apache installed, and as far as i know i dont have any firewall installed. (unless there was one installed automatically when i installed knoppix)

I have searched the forums but was unable to find any topic that matches my problem. And my problem is that i can connect to apache with 127.0.0.1 but not with my IP i got from my ISP. My friends cant connect to it either.
My ISP dont have a firewall on me either.

I have made sure that apache is listening to port 80. It does when i use 127.0.0.1 anyway.
I have been using Linux for a long time, but i am new to this networking stuff. I could really need some help.

I think the files host.allow and host.deny could have a part in this, but i dont know how to set them up properly. Here is how they look right now:

hosts.allow

ALL: 127.0.0.1 LOCAL : ALLOW
httpd: ALL

hosts.deny only contains comments

Is there something wrong with those? And is there any other files i have to edit to make apache listen to other IP's than the localhost?

And is there a firewall installed default, and how do i disable/edit it?

Thankfull for any help.

deps
10-14-2003, 06:32 PM
I think i am near the solution of the problem.
I installed firestarter so it could help me with the rules and stuff. And it looks like it works as it should.
And i think there is some problems with my network settings.
The thing is that i got 2 IP's from my ISP. One is between me and the ISP and the other is the public one.
When i run netcardconfig i enter the first one (starting with 10.xxxx) as the first IP and then i enter the other one as broadcast.
Is this the right way of doing it? I dont have DHCP or anything nice and easy like that.

I tried to swap the IP's and then i could access apache with my second IP, but then the rest of the internet was nowhere to find. :wink: