PDA

View Full Version : Locating my second hard drive in Knoppix.

dmedici
10-17-2003, 11:28 PM
I have a machine with two hard drives. One has W2K and the other is a blank, 40G.
I want to install Knoppix on that blank 40G drive. At the moment, I am unable to see the drive when I have the Knoppix CD in. I assume (and pardon me, I'm a Linux newbie here), that this is because the drive is unformatted.
How can I see the drive to start the install? Will it show up when I start the install using the little script in shell -

$su
(my password)
#cd/usr/local/bin
#./knx-hdinstall
etc.

Will the instructions that come up in the 'etc.' part get me to that hard drive? I didn't want to start an install until I had an idea of what I was getting into.

Thanks in advance!

starstyle
10-17-2003, 11:38 PM
hi,

after starting the install-script you will be asked which hd you would like to use and after that cfdisk will be started. there you can format your hd. i think the 40 gb hd is the second on the first ide controller. so you have to choose hdb.

(remember
master on first ide = hda
slave on first ide = hdb
master on seccond ide = hdc
slave on second ide = hdd)

bye

dmedici
10-18-2003, 01:28 AM
OK, here's what I did per some instructions I was following to install my Knoppix to a blank hd:

opened a shell
pressed ctrl-alt-F3 to bring me to another instance of Linux
In that instance, I typed,
su
passwd
and then I set the password.

I then pressed ctrl-alt-F5 (F6?, can't remember) which returned me to the instance running the window program.

In that window, I typed
su
and then I was supposed to enter the root password I had just set but no option came up where I could enter the password unseen. Instead, the error returned was 'unable to recognize command [my password] or something close to that effect.
At any rate, I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong. Thanks in advance for any help! Also, thanks for the previous answer as well. :)

rickenbacherus
10-18-2003, 05:29 AM