PDA

View Full Version : Why is Knoppix the best?

Hunkah
10-26-2003, 08:07 PM
Hi, I am really new to Linux, and I am having a problem.

I have tried to install tons of different distros, all have been weird in their own ways. Only Red Hat and Mandrake installs are the ones that I can breeze through with only minor difficulty. Why isn't it this way with everyone? Is there some secret being held on to that only some are able to know?

I am asking this question here only because Knoppix is the only one that I have used that did everything on its own!!! I didn't have to do a single thing to make it work. It even knew the number to my dsl isp!!! All I gave it was a username password!!! All other distros I have tried didn't get a single thing right!

This is another thing I can't figure out. Knoppix is based on Debian. Knoppix was awesome, so I Downloaded all 7 isos of Debian and burned them. I tried to install it and it was one of the worst for installing!
Yet Knoppix is based on it!!! What the heck?!!

I don't know if this is a question or a rant or maybe something else, but can someone give me a hint on why this isn't a focus to most Linux Distributors? Only Knoppix made me want to try Linux. The rest are trying to catch up or just don't care. (BTW, I know that security is one of the main focuses, and you don't need to go on and on about it, it is just hard to emagine that ease of use isn't considered at all!!)

MattT
10-27-2003, 03:40 AM
I have been using Linux for more that three years now and am no expert. But after reading your post I decided to give my view on the situation.