PDA

View Full Version : Floppy Drive Problems

RE Dude
10-28-2003, 08:02 AM
Please help.

I'm new to Linux, and am currently running Knoppix version 3.3 (2003-09-24), but can't mount the floppy drive using the desktop icon provided with the distro. How do I mount the floppy drive otherwise? If anyone can help, I'll really appreciate it.

Also, could someone suggest a good introductory text regarding the Linux filesystem and other topics?

todsr1
10-28-2003, 10:08 AM
Do you have a floppy in the drive when you try using the desktop icon?

Take a look at the file /etc/fstab. You can do this by typing 'more /etc/fstab' in a terminal window, without the quotes. You should see a line that looks something like '/dev/fd0 /mnt/floppy vfat ... '. Assuming this is present then the floppy should be perfectly accessable. If so, stick a floppy in the drive and type 'mount /dev/fd0' you should then be able to cd to /mnt/floppy and see the contents of the disk. if the 'mount.. ' command complains saying you don't have permission or something, try 'sudo mount /dev/fd0' instead.

HTH>

jalil
10-29-2003, 08:53 AM
Hi,

I'm also having the same problem on mounting the floppy drive. When I enter mount /dev/fd0 in the console, I get this error message:

mount: mount point /mnt/floppy is a symbolic link to nowhere

Appreciate if somebody can help me to rectify this floppy mounting problem.

Thanks,
Jalil

Note: My fstab entry:

# /etc/fstab: filesystem table.
#
# filesystem mountpoint type options dump pass
/dev/hda5 / ext3 defaults,errors=remount-ro 0 1

proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
/dev/fd0 /mnt/floppy vfat defaults,user,noauto,exec,umask=000 0 0
/dev/cdrom /cdrom iso9660 defaults,ro,user,noexec,noauto 0 0
/dev/dvd /dvd iso9660 defaults,ro,user,noexec,noauto 0 0
/dev/cdaudio /cdaudio iso9660 defaults,ro,user,noexec,noauto 0 0
# Added by KNOPPIX
/dev/hda1 /mnt/hda1 ntfs noauto,users,exec,ro,uid=myuser,gid=myuserl 0 0
# Added by KNOPPIX
/dev/hda6 none swap defaults 0 0
# Added by KNOPPIX