PDA

View Full Version : Goodbye Knoppix - Hello Mandrake

Drago
10-28-2003, 08:02 AM
My KNOPPIX disk cracked in my drive (I think that's where it cracked. A 1/2" crack starting from the middle outward. The CD felt warm, too - I wonder what's going on with that?

Anyway, I figured that since I have to replace the disk and I heard that the Mandrake installation was really easy (I'm a real newbie) I might as well order Mandrake. Then I thought of ordering Debian, and I wonder in fact whether Mandrake is Debian-based - I hope so. Debian has so many disks, and I only have 5.5 Gigs from my 20 Gig hard drive for LINUX.

I don't know whether this forum could support Mandrake questions, but thanks for your help getting started anyway.

Steve

Wirf
10-28-2003, 08:10 AM
Mandrake is not Debian-based, its Redhat based.

If you're a real newbie then stay away from doing a Debian installation, Debian by itself is pretty hard to install. Knoppix is a far easier way to install Debian.

And i don't know about the rest on this forum, but i don't mind anwsering questions about other distro's as well, just don't flame me if i get the location of a config file wrong :)

rickenbacherus
10-28-2003, 03:14 PM
My KNOPPIX disk cracked in my drive (I think that's where it cracked. A 1/2" crack starting from the middle outward. The CD felt warm, too - I wonder what's going on with that?

Perhaps it is the long arm of Bill's evil empire!

I don't know whether this forum could support Mandrake questions, but thanks for your help getting started anyway.

Steve

Not really- there is a Mandrake experts forum that shouldbe able to answer your questions. MDK is nice for noobs but IMHO rpm's really bite! At least your using Linux tho right?

Dave_Bechtel
10-28-2003, 07:44 PM
1. Stop using cheap media.
2. Get the drive checked out by a repair facility, and consider replacing it.