PDA

View Full Version : What modem should I get?

kipizit
11-01-2003, 12:48 PM
HI

I just tried out knoppix for the first time and quickly learned that it won't work (easily) with my modem (winmodem). Since I'm new to linux, I don't want to try of the "workarounds" for my modem-which "might" be possible.

So I'm thinking about getting a new modem, but am a bit unclear as to what I need. Searching pricewatch.com, I see many very cheap ($10) "hardware modems". Will any hardware modem work? I was hoping someone could post a specific modems that would work under Knoppix (without installing to the hard drive).The cheaper the better!

Thanks

MattT
11-01-2003, 05:04 PM
You can find what hardware works in Linux at http://www.tldp.org/HOWTO/Hardware-HOWTO/index.html
But don't worry most hardware modems work. When searching for non winmodems look for words like controller-based and hardware modem. One thing to know is that some hardware PCI modems use ttyS4. For Win/DOS users ttyS4 is com5. For some reason it is not standard for Linux distros to include ttyS4. So you might have to type this into a root shell:
cd /dev
./MAKEDEV ttyS4
ln -s ttyS4 modem
chmod 777 modem
chmod 777 ttyS4
This will set up your default modem to run on ttyS4. But hopefully you will not have to do that.

SuperDuper
11-01-2003, 08:44 PM
Hi all
When buying a dial up modem (56k) I would like to suggest to always buy an external serial modem, for one it will free up a pci slot and second it will work with any OS, do not buy a USB modem as these are not a hardware modem.

Stephen
11-01-2003, 10:08 PM
For some reason it is not standard for Linux distros to include ttyS4.

It is not "standard" for Linux distributions because that is a non-standard port for a modem to be using.

MattT
11-02-2003, 03:34 AM
It is not "standard" for Linux distributions because that is a non-standard port for a modem to be using.