PDA

View Full Version : not all dvds playing (solved)

jon267
11-07-2003, 03:25 PM
Hi there.Im new to knoppix and am having a problem with some of my dvds.Some work fine but others don't play at all,some play the opening credits but then stop as the film starts.These all work in my dvd player and are all the same region etc.Has anyone got any ideas/suggestions to help me please?This is better than using XP which doesnt play any dvds at all!

rneff
11-07-2003, 04:58 PM
If XP does not play your DVDs either, it sounds like you are are/might be having a hardware problem. What exactly happens when the DVDs stop playing? Do you get errors?

rickenbacherus
11-07-2003, 08:10 PM
Hi there.Im new to knoppix and am having a problem with some of my dvds.Some work fine but others don't play at all,some play the opening credits but then stop as the film starts.These all work in my dvd player and are all the same region etc.Has anyone got any ideas/suggestions to help me please?This is better than using XP which doesnt play any dvds at all!

If you're using Knoppix from cd then you won't be able to play encrypted dvd's as Knoppix does not have libdvdcss (http://developers.videolan.org/libdvdcss/) on the cd.

libdvdcss is a simple library designed for accessing DVDs like a block device without having to bother about the decryption.

You gotta love OSS! :) You can install libdvdcss w/ dpkg however.

The fact that XP won't play DVD's means nothing more than XP is crap. No suprise there eh? I think you're hardware is just fine. If you can't install Knoppix to hdd you might consider remastering. It really isn't that hard.

jon267
11-07-2003, 08:49 PM
Thanks for your replies.The dvd player worked fine with win 98 and there are no error messages displayed.I will try libdvdcss asap but the page is down at the moment.Thanks for your help.

aay
11-07-2003, 09:54 PM
Check out the following page:

http://www.knoppix.net/docs/index.php/FaqUsing