PDA

View Full Version : Soundblaster Audigy on Knoppix

Dark-Prophecy
11-09-2003, 07:31 AM
I just install Knoppix and my sound is not working. I am a COMPLETE newbie to linux as I am now dual booting XP and Knoppix now. Please help me, thanks. As the title says I am using Soundblaster Audigy.

Dark-Prophecy
11-09-2003, 08:40 AM
This is the error I got when I tried sndconfig
The module used for your card emu10k1.o, is not currently in your module search path. Please verify that your kernel modules are correctly installed.

See, it detects my soundcard fine, but then it gives me that message.

zz9pluralzalpha
11-09-2003, 06:20 PM
You need to use the alsa cheat code. i.e. at boot, type

knoppix alsa

Mike

Dark-Prophecy
11-10-2003, 07:05 PM
How do I do that? When I boot, out comes LILO and the boot menu. I don't have a choice. Sorry I'm a newbie.

I did an HD install, so it doesn't have a boot prompt.

Stephen
11-11-2003, 12:02 AM
How do I do that? When I boot, out comes LILO and the boot menu. I don't have a choice. Sorry I'm a newbie.

I did an HD install, so it doesn't have a boot prompt.

Try as root /etc/init.d/alsa-autoconfig if it works and you get sound then also as root edit the file /etc/init.d/bootmisc.sh and add the line aumix -w 75 -v 75 near the bottom of the file this sets the default volume on boot.

CrashedAgain
11-11-2003, 05:19 AM
I was also having problems getting sound. I tried what you said & it worked but I had to start xmms from console as root. On the next boot I got an error 'couldn't open device /dev/dsp (Permission denied)' & again no sound unless I started xmms from console as root. permissions for /dev/dsp are user =root, group=audio, rw for user & group. I assume these are default values. What else do I have to do to get sound as user without having to start xmms as root?

Stephen
11-11-2003, 06:16 AM