PDA

View Full Version : cant access net

dankehoe1
11-11-2003, 04:33 PM
running 3.2 off cdrom, pc networked through a lynksys router, have an etherfast nic. the setup network config utility thingy identifies one adapter in my sys and designates it eth0 but when i try to broadcast, i get a failed error. my router is set to dhcp=yes. when i try a ping to www.cnn.com, i get "unknown server" i am new to anything unix but really really really wanna dump bill gates if i can. please help. BTW, i have an XBOX which has been modded to run linux (gentoox actually) and it is on the same network with the linksys and it connects to the net fine if that means anything.) thanks

rneff
11-11-2003, 07:28 PM
Type "ifconfig -a" and post the results.

pau1knopp
11-11-2003, 08:01 PM
It needs to have the DNS server defined. Post the contents of /etc/resolv.conf while your at it. It should look something like

nameserver 206.77.33.199

If your local interface (127.0.0.1) is the only thing there, that's your issue.

dankehoe1
11-12-2003, 12:01 AM
okay, here is the results of ifconfig -a, it may be a letter or two off as i had to copy it by hand and retype it here, as i couldnt figure out how to print it or save it to floppy. so here goes:

ETHO link encap: ethernet haddr 00:A0:CC:E0:36:A7
BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU 1500 METRIC 1
Rx Packets:0 Errors:0 Dropped:0 Overruns:0 frame:0
Tx Packets:0 Errors:4 Dropped:2 Overruns:0 Carrier:4
Collisions:0 Txqueuelen:100

lo Link Encap Local Loopback
inet address: 127.0.0.1 Mask: 255.0.0.0
Up Loopback Running MTU 16436 Metric:1
Rx Packets:52 Errors:0 Dropped:0 Overruns:0 frame:0
Tx Packets:52 Errors:0 Dropped:0 Overruns:0 Carrier:0
Collisions:0 Txqueuelen:0
Rx Bytes:3464 (3.3 KiB) Tx Bytes 3464 (3.3 KiB)

and, I did look at etc\resolv.conf and, in fact, the nameserver only has 127.0.0.1

so i guess the next thing i need to do is find out the address of my server (would it be 192.168.1.1? as in my router?) and enter it into the resolv.conf and save. yes?