PDA

View Full Version : n00b needs advice on HD install

DJs Red
11-12-2003, 05:32 AM
I'm a total newbie when it comes to linux. I finally tried it less than two weeks ago and so far, I'm LOVING knoppix. I'm thinking that after I become more familiar with linux in general and knoppix specifically, I want to redo my box so I can dual boot knoppix from the HD as well as WinXPPro (gotta play my games ;)). I have two hard drives, a 120 gig Western Digital SE and an older 20 gig Maxtor. I was wondering if I could put Knoppix on the Maxtor and WinXP on the Western Digital. I don't think I'd need a lot of room for the knoppix install, but I imagine you guys would know better than me. Do you linux gurus think this is a good or even possible config to run on? I know the Knoppix drive would need to be FAT32, but what about the WinXP drive? Can I use NTFS? Should I use NTFS?

Slightly related to this, I've also recently discovered the magic that is .ogg files for music. I'm thinking I want to transfer my CD collection to my 120 gig using this format (I was actually just about to do this with mp3 VBR). Is this something that can be done under knoppix, or would I be better off using WinXP?

Thank you for any help you can provide. I must say, just browsing through these forums, I've picked up quite a bit of usefull info!

r3writ3r
11-12-2003, 06:23 AM
get VMware Workstation installl it and install knoppix , suse, mandrake and red hat on it and run them all at the same time :D + winnt win2000, win95 win98 all from the confort of your own xppro fckgw......

r3writ3r@yahoo.com

being a newbee its so great, we all start there

RockMumbles
11-12-2003, 06:37 AM