PDA

View Full Version : Cable Modem Install for Knoppix

SniperNeo
11-14-2003, 10:43 AM
Well, This is my first time actually succesfully having any version of linux on my computer, anyway, I loaded up the CD kick ass it works :o , ok next....prob, I try to get onto internet, and no luck :x , and tryed to do a search for modem only got my Ethernet which is on the motherboard, I do not use it, I use a USB Cable. So if anyone has any information on how I can get my internet to work I would be very greatful thank you.

:cry: -SniperNeo

SniperNeo
11-14-2003, 11:04 AM
:!: Also, Why is it that I fixed Knoppix up the background and stuff, and I Log Out and go back to windows for a bit and go back to Knoppix 10 minutes later, why does my stuff that I did get removed back to default version of knoppix

stukennedyuk
11-14-2003, 03:46 PM
I have a broadband connection using a USB port, I'm a newbie but I think the module that drives this device is called 'CDCEther' and you can make sure it is loaded with 'modprobe CDCEther' - from the 'Root shell' (Knoppix menu).

Then type 'netcardconfig' and it should show two ports, your onboard ethernet (eth0) and a second one, your USB connection - eth1 - either choose DHCP or enter the correct settings (your ISP will have given you those).

If any of this is wrong - can someone else help this chap!

Stu.....

certifieduser
11-14-2003, 03:56 PM
well since you are giving a shot to linux and trying something new, why dont you try hooking up a network cable to eth0 rather than going through usb. usb network is for computer illerate. sign of linux/knoppix shows your interest towards computer literacy.

is it making any sense. i have never used usb networking but i think ethernet networking would be much more simplier and easier.

good luck

aay
11-14-2003, 04:48 PM
well since you are giving a shot to linux and trying something new, why dont you try hooking up a network cable to eth0 rather than going through usb. good luck