PDA

View Full Version : Configure MBR for knoppix 3.1 + windows XP on same hda ?

Amity
11-17-2003, 02:31 PM
Hi there !
Well I installed knoppix 3.1 on my system with LILO and guess what ?!! Lost my windows. Ok rehabilitated Win2K with fixmbr.
I want help on how to configure GRUB for knoppix 3.1+Win2K/XP.My limitations are:
a) I am a newbie.
b) There is only one physical HDD in my system (hda).
c)I DESPERATELY WANT KNOPPIX ON MY SYSTEM :(

Please help me out configure GRUB. HELP!!

>> Amity << :idea:

carofe
11-17-2003, 07:57 PM
I had the same problem(linux and win in the same hd but in different particions and win dont start when i select it)
I decided boot knoppix from floppy disk and it run ok
I dont use lilo or grub Because I m not sure about the last.
But I think that the problem is in lilo.

garyng
11-17-2003, 10:34 PM
Hi there !
Well I installed knoppix 3.1 on my system with LILO and guess what ?!! Lost my windows. Ok rehabilitated Win2K with fixmbr.
I want help on how to configure GRUB for knoppix 3.1+Win2K/XP.My limitations are:
a) I am a newbie.
b) There is only one physical HDD in my system (hda).
c)I DESPERATELY WANT KNOPPIX ON MY SYSTEM :(

Please help me out configure GRUB. HELP!!

>> Amity << :idea:

Just install GRUB/lilo to your linux partition(not MBR, I don't know why people like to recommend installing to MBR, that may be true for the old Win9x days, not for NT/XP etc. as it can happily chain booting boot sectors saved on file). Then do the following(assuming hda1 is your windows partition, hda2 is your linux partition and hda1 is FAT32).

mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/tmp
dd if=/dev/hda2 of=/mnt/tmp/bootsect.lnx bs=512 count=1

EDIT /mnt/tmp/boot.ini and add the following line :

c:\bootsect.lnx="Linux"

and you are done.

foamrotreturns
02-09-2005, 09:36 AM
And what if hda1 is NTFS, not FAT32?

Markus
02-09-2005, 09:59 AM