PDA

View Full Version : how do I start Apache and samba at bootup time?



bubazoo
11-21-2003, 06:12 PM
I have Knoppix 3.3 installed on my hard drive,

how do I auto start Apache and Samba at startup?

I keep looking for a "services' application like redhat has,
but i don't see one in here :( where's it at?

bubazoo
11-21-2003, 09:29 PM
okay, then can you guys at least tell me how to
start apache? httpd start doesn't work like it does in other distro's

I'm actually suprised Samba doesn't start at startup,
thats another question I get alot how to share files between windows and Linux, so you'd think samba would start at startup time by default.
I dunno why its not.

stukennedyuk
11-21-2003, 10:01 PM
You could try and add a line at the end of the /etc/bootmisc.sh file, Whatever works from the command-line. I've done this for lots of stuff (too much to mention!) - rmmod/modprobe/start firewall/dma on etc. etc.

I'm not sure if this is the 'correct' method, but it does work.

bootmisc.sh is only in the Debian style HD install, if you do a Knoppix style install you'll have to add a script file in init.d or the rcX.d level you boot into (I think).

Stu.....

(I'm a newbie, so apologise if this is wrong, in advance!)

dave52355
11-21-2003, 11:24 PM
apt-get install rcconf

Than from console turn on/off to your hearts desire.

Stephen
11-21-2003, 11:26 PM
okay, then can you guys at least tell me how to
start apache?
Start here (http://www.knoppix.net/search?q=start+apache&submit=Go)

bubazoo
11-22-2003, 02:44 AM
apt-get install rcconf

Than from console turn on/off to your hearts desire.

problem with that is,

"can't connect to security.debian.org"
"can't connect to non-us.debian.org"
"can't connect to people.debian.org"

same errors I got lastnight :(

Debian.org site is down.
only mirror that works right now is
http://www.de.debian.org,
whcih means the apt-get updates still won't work
until they get the site fixed. who knows when that'll be
its been down so far since Thursday

RockMumbles
11-22-2003, 06:51 AM
To do this the manual way ...
(su to root in konsole, then you could copy and paste using your mouse)

do this:
ls /etc/init.d
and see if there are entries for apache and samba in there, I would think so, but check.

Then check to see if things are set up OK so do this:
/etc/init.d/apache start
and
/etc/init.d/samba start

this checks to see if the daemons will start without errors, they may have to be configured before the daemons will run properly.

Once everything is OK, apache and samba are configured and able to start without errors then look at /etc/inittab for your runlevel id:
cat /etc/inittab | grep ^id:

on my debian system I get:
id:2:initdefault:

So then on my system I would use:

ln -s /etc/init.d/apache /etc/rc2.d/S91apache
ln -s /etc/init.d/samba /etc/rc2.d/S20samba

to start the daemons, substitute your runlevel number for the 2 in rc2.d, if you are running in runlevel 4 use rc4.d etc.
(Note: here you could link to rc2.d rc3.d rc4.d and rc.5.d so they would be started in any normal runlevel)

then so the daemons are properly stopped on a shutdown or reboot you should do this:
ln -s /etc/init.d/apache /etc/rc0.d/K20apache
ln -s /etc/init.d/apache /etc/rc6.d/K20apache
and for samba:
ln -s /etc/init.d/samba /etc/rc0.d/K19samba
ln -s /etc/init.d/samba /etc/rc2.d/K19samba



Then when you boot up the daemons will be started up and when you reboot or shutdown they will be stopped.

HTH

~rock