PDA

View Full Version : Unstoppable

sn0wflake
12-02-2003, 02:40 AM
Is it possible to write a script, that works with an "out-of-the-box" Knoppix 3.3 harddisk installation, that executes a program. Once the program is closed, the scripts restarts the program.
Can this script be made?

sn0wflake
12-02-2003, 02:42 AM
PS: I'm not lazy. I just don't know what scripting language to use. Please initiate me :)

abouzeis
12-02-2003, 02:58 AM
Simple, use c++
"
#include <iostream>

using name space std;

void main()
{
system("your program path goes here");
main();
}
"

this will run your program, after that quits it will run the main function and that will run the program and so on for ever.

sn0wflake
12-02-2003, 03:02 AM
So all I do is create a text file, insert the code, and chmod it executable? Please don't smirk, I'm a newbie.

dicej
12-02-2003, 03:37 AM
Since it's C++, you'll need to compile it first. Put it in a file called forever.cpp and run "g++ forever.cpp -o forever", and you will have an executable called "forever". Careful though - the "#include" line should read "#include <iostream>" (your web browser may think <iostream> is HTML). Oh, and no space between "name" and "space" in "namespace".

If you want to avoid C++, you can use the following bash script:

#!/bin/bash

function doStuff {
# your code or program call goes here
doStuff
}

doStuff

Type "man bash" in your shell to learn more about bash.

sn0wflake
12-02-2003, 03:48 AM
Thank you all. I feel like a masochist because I hate ignorance :lol:

sn0wflake
12-02-2003, 04:00 AM
Oh my, Bash resembles a mixture of Windows batch files and PHP. Smooth :)

baldyeti
12-02-2003, 09:15 AM
Erhm, sorry but neither of the proposed solutions seem to match the original
requirement, which implies looping. C++ sure is overkill here, a simple shell
(bash) script will do:

while true
do
# your program invocation here
done

jeramy
12-02-2003, 05:40 PM