PDA

View Full Version : Has anyone installed knoppix to a Creative Jukebox Zen?

baldyeti
12-08-2003, 12:37 AM
Given that this MP3 player (http://uk.europe.creative.com/products/product.asp?prod=494) doubles as a USB2 HD, I'd be tempted to devote some of its portable storage capacity to a knoppix install. But I suspect it may not be possible/easy/allowed to partition the unit, and that altering the boot loader and/or active partition may render the preload software and firmware inoperative. Has someone attempted this already?

FlorianK
12-09-2003, 07:12 PM
I'm a newbie, and I know you're not (what with all your posts). Just thought I'd share my experience about this because it is sort of similar to what you're asking:

I'm using an Archos Jukebox Recorder with USB 2.0, sadly connected to a USB 1.1 port (because I don't have a better one on my box). I've tried repartitioning it and qtparted refused to do it. I thought that was to do with the slow connection?

About the software of the device, with the Archos one it is flashed - I'm using an open source one (http://rockbox.haxx.se/) (Archos only, but great stuff - I didn't flash it, though that's possible now), and that didn't harm the original software. I'm not saying this would be so with your jukebox, but if you check the manufacturer's homepage, it might tell you whether the software is flashed or stored on the drive itself, or if there's some boot sector you can't touch. From my experience with Archos, though, I don't think you'll find much - they don't seem to be too enthusiastic about people replacing their native software with other stuff.

My BIOS doesn't support booting from a USB device, but it worked great to save the persistent home directory and configuration to the drive (at cd boot prompt, enter knoppix myconfig=scan).

Sorry if that's no great help.

baldyeti
12-09-2003, 10:06 PM
Hello Florian, with the evolution rate of all things IT, we're all newbies - forever!