PDA

View Full Version : Linux noob.. few questions getting set up..

koma
12-11-2003, 08:31 AM
Hi.. i've been playing around for a little bit now.. and have come up against a few questions.. im pretty much self taught so don't know much in a lot of depth..

i just need a little advice on saving my mounts.. where do i set these? i don't want to have to log in each time and mount my devices :/

how do you create a shortcut for amsn? at the moment i have to create a terminal session open up the dir then exec by typing ./amsn - surely theres an easier way?

how do you set a default browser? im using firebird at the moment.. and find when clicking on links inside evolution it opens up in konqueror.. can this be changed?

sorry for all the questions.. it's never easy starting out! thanks for any help in advance..

Stephen
12-11-2003, 04:49 PM
Hi.. i've been playing around for a little bit now.. and have come up against a few questions.. im pretty much self taught so don't know much in a lot of depth..

i just need a little advice on saving my mounts.. where do i set these? i don't want to have to log in each time and mount my devices :/

how do you create a shortcut for amsn? at the moment i have to create a terminal session open up the dir then exec by typing ./amsn - surely theres an easier way?

how do you set a default browser? im using firebird at the moment.. and find when clicking on links inside evolution it opens up in konqueror.. can this be changed?

sorry for all the questions.. it's never easy starting out! thanks for any help in advance..