PDA

View Full Version : Total Newbie

drbfunk
12-12-2003, 04:49 AM
OK, I've spent all day trying to get this thing to work. I really want to like Linux systems. They appear to be miles ahead of Windows.

I just installed Knoppix 3.3 11-19 version. I accidetally booted from the backup floppy I created when I did the initial install. It works fine, but it won't detect USB devices and I don't think I can do things I should. I restarted without the bootdisk and it displays "no operating system found." I partitioned the HD myself (probably problem #1) giving partition #1 to a Windows Fat 32 system. Partitions 2 and 3 are Linus root and swap respectively.

I've spent a considerable amount of time looking in the FAQ's, but can't seem to find the right questions.

Questions:
1) If I can boot without a disk, will my USB problem clear up?

2) How do I boot without a disk?
By disk I mean 3.5' floppy. I have the CD-Rom and can boot from that, but would rather have this Knoppix as my primary operating system.

Please have pity on a very first time Windows convert. :lol:
Dr. B

Stephen
12-12-2003, 06:25 AM
OK, I've spent all day trying to get this thing to work. I really want to like Linux systems. They appear to be miles ahead of Windows.

I just installed Knoppix 3.3 11-19 version. I accidetally booted from the backup floppy I created when I did the initial install. It works fine, but it won't detect USB devices and I don't think I can do things I should. I restarted without the bootdisk and it displays "no operating system found." I partitioned the HD myself (probably problem #1) giving partition #1 to a Windows Fat 32 system. Partitions 2 and 3 are Linus root and swap respectively.

I've spent a considerable amount of time looking in the FAQ's, but can't seem to find the right questions.

Questions:
1) If I can boot without a disk, will my USB problem clear up?

2) How do I boot without a disk?