PDA

View Full Version : live-cd can't get network to work

hicks
12-16-2003, 04:47 AM
i'm a linux newbie. i downloaded the 3.3v of knoppix live cd and i can't seem to get the network to work. my netcard is recognized, i run netcardconfig but i can't get on the network. the network connects to the internet. i get the ip, subnet, gateway, dns, everything. same thing works on suse and mandrake live cds. i need help. what can i do? :?

rickenbacherus
12-16-2003, 06:14 AM
Networking 101:

Can you ping by i.p.?

ping 66.218.71.198

If so can you ping yahoo.com

ping www.yahoo.com

You can try to restart the network interface like so:

sudo /etc/init.d/networking restart

You can also run pump:

pump

What kind of NIC?

jeremybergeron
12-16-2003, 03:13 PM
I am also looking to use the live knoppix to connect to my lan. I have a windows 2003 server, and would love to use the live knoppix as a client boot disk.

It states that "lisa" (Linux Internet Server Administration) is not running because with the live knoppix you don't get root access. which you need to get it started.

So- how do I start lisa with the live knoppix? Or, do I need to set up knoppix on a hard drive, install all the drivers, settings, and programs I want for the client machine, then burn it to a bootable iso cd rom?

Well, once I learn how, I post back!

horo
12-16-2003, 03:58 PM
Hi Jeremy,

...because with the live knoppix you don't get root access...
In a Konsole (the screen with the seashell) type "sudo su" to become root. Or change to VT1..4 with <ALT><CTRL><F1>..<F4>, there you are root, back to KDE with <ALT><CTRL><F5>.

Ciao Martin

hicks
12-16-2003, 04:38 PM
Networking 101:

Can you ping by i.p.?

ping 66.218.71.198

If so can you ping yahoo.com

ping www.yahoo.com

You can try to restart the network interface like so:

sudo /etc/init.d/networking restart

You can also run pump:

pump

What kind of NIC?

well i'm new to linux, not that new to networks :)