PDA

View Full Version : knoppix-installer: debian vs knoppix install? which one?

torchZ06
12-18-2003, 10:17 AM
hi all,

here's my question:
in the 'knoppix-installer' tool, which install method is the best one to choose for a primary OS: the Debian one (like kpx-install) or the Knoppix one? i want to use it as an everyday system-- will be used for graphics and photo retouching and printing and web surfing. GF's computer :)

heres some background:
i'm pretty new to knoppix-- it was recommended to me by the guys over at the Gentoo forum-- i've been messing around with Gentoo for a while, but i need a more ready-to-run OS for my GF's computer and i don't want to mess with a mandrake or redhat. i never really spent the time to get debian figured out-- i downloaded the 7 CDs, but that was about as far as i got. :lol:

knoppix seemed like the best of both worlds-- you got a full-on debian system without all the hassle of setting it up!

so far i used the old kpx-install and the knoppix-installer tools, choosing "knoppix style" in the latter's Debian vs. Knoppix choice.

both seem to work fine, but i want to use the one that will give me the best system to grow with.

thanks for any input,
patrick

m_yates
12-18-2003, 03:51 PM
Hi,

I installed on 3 PC's using the knoppix-installer and choosing a Debian system. It works great and once you learn how to use apt-get, you will never have to install again. On my desktop at home, I have upgraded KDE, installed Gnome, and upgraded the kernel. I used to run Mandrake, but I always re-installed about every 6 months because a new version would come out with upgraded Kernel, KDE, or Gnome. Debian allows you to easily make upgrades of any scale without re-installing the operating system.