PDA

View Full Version : Detecting my Ethernet Card

Linkooseven
12-22-2003, 09:51 PM
Hi,

I am using the KNOPPIX Linux off the boot CD. It works fine except it cant seem to detect my Ethernet Card.

Any help on getting it to work? Or maybe some general information (I'm new to Linux)

Thanks,
~Matt

baldyeti
12-22-2003, 09:57 PM
In a console / terminal session, type "sudo lspci -v" . If the output mentions an ethernet device (btw - you did not mention which one you're supposed to be using), then type "sudo netcardconfig".

Linkooseven
12-22-2003, 10:09 PM
It's an Integrated nVidia Ethernet Card... I'll try what you said, although when I typed netcardconfig by itself it said it didnt find a card.

Linkooseven
12-22-2003, 10:29 PM
I got it to say it knows a cards there, but when I run the config program it says "NO SUPPORTED CARDS FOUND." Does that mean Linux dont support my ethernet card? In which case...sucks...lol.

Stephen
12-22-2003, 11:08 PM
I got it to say it knows a cards there, but when I run the config program it says "NO SUPPORTED CARDS FOUND." Does that mean Linux dont support my ethernet card? In which case...sucks...lol.
No that means that the driver for the card is not included in Knoppix you can try Overclockix (http://overclockix.octeams.com/) it has support for the card included.

arkaine23
12-23-2003, 01:21 AM
Thanks, Steven. Overclockix has the nvnet driver you need Linkooseven, and so does Morphix as far as I know.