PDA

View Full Version : Yet another noob in troubles:knx-hdinstall and Xp

Igghibù ZwfanDir
12-23-2003, 12:38 AM
Hy ppl !!!! :D
Premise:I've been reading few threads about the Knoppix installation with Xp already on a box,such as This (http://www.knoppix.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=6459),this (http://www.freenet.org.nz/misc/knoppix-install.htm)
and this (http://www.knoppix.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=6785). And i must say that i'm overloaded with infoes (not only form this forum ) and different opinions. :? :? :?
Beside I'm completely new to GNU/Linux operating systems,and it's about only a couple of weeks that i'm gathering infoes to come to the practical stuff. (in these two weeks i even fixed quiete a few "minor" problems in my computer and now it's ready to launch).
I've been using Knoppix from the liveCD for few days just to try it out and to get closer to the GNU/Linux world,and i must say that i
love it. But my "dream" is to get nuff confidence and knowledge to be able,one day,to "switch" to Gentoo. (and here one could say: "....if u don't manage to install,how would you get nuff confident to step over??? and one could be quite right in saying this but,belive me,i'm really busy right now with school and work and i urge to have Knoppix installed to practice on the machine,otherwise i'll just go crazy and overloaded. Basically. :p )/Premise]

Now,
After i red the two methods threads,knx-hdinstall & knoppix-installer, i'll go for the knx-hdinstall one. (coz i think this will be a good starter for a noob like me)
I will use GRUB as boot loader,and i'm actually reading the GRUB manual to understand howto edit the menu.lst file,but i'm getting dizzy with it :shock:

Could you give me a shortcut for these two things plea???

Here it goes my configuration :

/dev/hda1....../mnt/win_C:\.......10Gb....NTFS...."OS" + appz
/dev/hda5...../mnt/win_F:\.........30GB...FAT32....Data
/dev/hda6...../mnt/win_G:\...........5Gb...FAT32...Games..(just in case)