PDA

View Full Version : Security? Firewall?

knoppixbill
12-23-2003, 03:30 AM
Hi everyone :)
I am new to Linux and I am trying to learn all I can in order to make the switch to Linux (Eventually). My main priority at the moment is security. I have not been able to find a firewall anywhere. I am using Knoppix 3.2 I have it installed on the harddrive. Can anyone tell me how to access the firewall. Or do I need to Install something? I can tell that currently I have no protection. Using Ksim and Kppp details I see lots of activity going back and forth, Even when I am just sitting there with no browser or mail or anything open. But I dont know how to stop it. Anybody have any recommendations? My thanks to the group.
Best Regards,
KnoppixBill

Stephen
12-23-2003, 04:50 AM
Hi everyone :)
I am new to Linux and I am trying to learn all I can in order to make the switch to Linux (Eventually). My main priority at the moment is security. I have not been able to find a firewall anywhere. I am using Knoppix 3.2 I have it installed on the harddrive. Can anyone tell me how to access the firewall. Or do I need to Install something? I can tell that currently I have no protection. Using Ksim and Kppp details I see lots of activity going back and forth, Even when I am just sitting there with no browser or mail or anything open. But I dont know how to stop it. Anybody have any recommendations? My thanks to the group.
Best Regards,
KnoppixBill