PDA

View Full Version : WinModem LT V.90 Data+Fax Modem V5.34 HELP! (solved)

Cuddles
12-23-2003, 01:26 PM
Ok, it is a WinModem.

The subject line is what is returned when I do an AT3 - So, it is a LT WinModem.

I have tried looking for drivers for it, on the LinModem site, problem is that - sorry - I am an extreme noob when it comes to manual detection, I am way to babyed by the PnP functions within Windows98. I can't figure out if 1) it is supported in Linux, and 2) what drivers are needed.

Knoppix 3.2 Release 2003-05-16-Beta reports that it detects the modem, but refuses to talk to it. Drivers, right? When I try and use the modem in Knoppix, during the tests, it simply says its BUSY.

I am using Windows ONLY for email and access to the Internet, and here. I would love to just STAY in Knoppix, but this WinModem is the only issue still holding me back in Windows. So, the problem is until I get the modem in Knoppix working, I have to drop Knoppix, come into Windows, and do research for this. Anything I download will need to be placed on a Fat32 drive, and then after Knoppix is booted, pull it into Knoppix.

Having a persistant Knoppix Home, and Knoppix Configs, plus Swap File, native on the Fat32, I hope that anything I can get Knoppix to run with the modem will "stick", or I think I will have to keep installing each reboot. If I can get the modem working in Knoppix, I have a HD already prepared for doing the HD Install, and can then KEEP everything running, if I can get this D*mn modem working.

The WinModem is internal, and on the motherboard. Since Christmas Gifts took more money than expected, my new system with a "standard" modem on it, is getting farther and farther from being received, and I am getting ansy with the old system to get it running permanently.