PDA

View Full Version : Using Knoppix with work saved to hard drive...

howagood
02-07-2003, 02:17 PM
I would like to set up Knoppix on a standalone computer so that Linux and all of the Knoppix applications run from the CR-ROM, but any files I create can be stored to the hard drive. At this point I am not concerned with operating speed.

I imagine the above configuration would first require the creation of a Linux partition on the hard drive which Knoppix would recognize. However, how does one get Knoppix/Linux to recognize the hard drive as a place to save files? I am new to Knoppix and Linux in general, so I'll need all the help I can get, right down to the commands.

Thanks.

Knoppix Knewbie

eadz
02-07-2003, 02:22 PM
check out knoppix persistant home ( have a look in the news section for the thread )

howagood
02-07-2003, 04:52 PM
Sorry, Eadz. I don't know what 'Knoppix Persistant Home' is, nor have I been able to find it on the web. Remember, I am a Linux Newbie.

eadz
02-07-2003, 04:59 PM
Sorry, Eadz. I don't know what 'Knoppix Persistant Home' is, nor have I been able to find it on the web. Remember, I am a Linux Newbie.

sorry.
see here
http://www.knoppix.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=155

basically, you'll need to download the file and read the readme in it.

howagood
02-12-2003, 07:24 PM
Okay, Eadz, I'm finally caught up on what you had asked me to do. I located Knoppix Persistent Home, downloaded a copy, and read the readme.

The Hint says if Persistent Home is used regularly, one should "put the files knx_persistent_home.pl and knoppix.sh on the Knoppix CD into the KNOPPIX directory."

My question: If the Knoppix download is an iso and the CD is already burned, how does one copy those two files?

Thanks again.
Howard, the Knoppix Knewbie

oscar
02-14-2003, 07:29 AM
The Hint says if Persistent Home is used regularly, one should "put the files knx_persistent_home.pl and knoppix.sh on the Knoppix CD into the KNOPPIX directory."