PDA

View Full Version : ATI grafics + nForce mobo = total confusion

heffeque
12-29-2003, 05:45 PM
I have a Radeon 9600 Pro EZ and an nVidia motherboard (ASUS nForce 2 Deluxe) and I'm not sure why, but I have problems installing the drivers that ATi has on their web for Linux. I also freaked out when I read on nVidia's web page that it's GART driver didn't yet support other video card acceleration from other companies than theirs, and since my motherboard is nVidia... is intalling nVidia's motherboard, sound and Lan drivers, and then installing ATi's drivers on top (Gart drivers included) a safe thing to do?
I had Mandrake 9.1 installed but had to install it on text mode... it was hell because I'm a total noob. I tried to install Ati's driver (without installing nVidia's) and just made everything even more broken. I tried to uninstall Linux... I didn't find a way to do it and a friend of mine told me to do a fdisk/mbr. That totally f*cked my hard disk's partitions, so I lost ALL my stuff (windows stuff and linux's stuff). That s*cked a lot. Sorry for my vocab, but I'm realy pissed off.

cybersmurf
12-29-2003, 08:13 PM
hello!
I don't really think the ati-problem has something to do with the nforce chipset at all. i have a radeon 9600pro too and i'm unable to install the drivers. there are problems with an open gl library, i think.
when trying to install, there is a problem with /usr/x11r6/lib/libgl.so.1.2 (trying to overwrite this package whici is in in package xlibmesa4-gl, too)
)

rickenbacherus
12-29-2003, 08:24 PM
I would suggest trying out a version of Knoppix that has nvidia support such as Overclockix, Morphix or Kanotix. The nvidia audio driver is inteli810 and Kanotix has the GPL'd forcedeth driver. I haven't tried to use an ATI card w/ an nvidia mobo but have read both good and bad results- none of them catastrophic. ;)