PDA

View Full Version : Knoppix will not recognize my Actiontec PM560LKI modem

genelake
02-07-2003, 08:25 PM
First off...I'm a Linux newbie. However, I cannot get KPPP to recognize my Actiontec modem. I get a 'modem is busy' or 'modem is not detected' message. Windows configured this modem after I installed...I didn't have to do a thing. I can dail-up and get connected to my ISP thru WindowsXP with no problems. But Knoppix (also Demolinux has the same problems as Knoppix) is not working. I'm sure I just need to configure some settings, but I have no idea what they are. I would appreciate any help you people can give me. Remember, I am a Linux newbie. Command line entries are a mystery to me. Thanks ! javascript:emoticon(':roll:')
Rolling Eyes

zzyzx
02-08-2003, 05:28 AM
There is a good chance your modem is a hardware modem. check www.linmodem.org . As for possible help try www.phpcad.com/knoppix-install.html

Bill

genelake
02-08-2003, 07:47 PM
Bill...thanks for your help. I have gone to the sites your mentioned and many more. Most of what I read is over my head. I can't find answers that help. I am going to contact my local Linux User Group and see if I can get some hands-on help. Thanks again!

MattT
02-08-2003, 09:04 PM
Hi,

I am new to Knoppix but have had experiance with other distros. I also have a similar Actiontec modem that is not auto detected. I am still working on it but here is something I already know from problems with other distros. Linux drivers are not like Windows drivers, when you search for drivers don't look for the maker of the modem (Actiontec), this doesn't matter. Look for the the chip maker, in my case Lucent.

In my favorite debian distro(Xandros), I also had detection problems but got it working with a Lucent K56flex driver.

In Xandros it was all GUI. Unfortuenetly I am not much of a techno wizard so even if I did have the right driver I wouldn't know how to use it in Knoppix :oops: So anyone reading this please help.