PDA

View Full Version : MiniKnoppix 2.0 - Almost Perfect, But...

HateSpitLove
01-02-2004, 06:16 AM
I am looking to use a Mini 200MB disk livecd for use when I am away from home and general purpose internet apps like email and net browsing. I have spent most of the day downloading various "mini" versions of Knoppix and am quite pleased with MiniKnoppix 2.0 with the exception that it does not include KMail.

I have tried Slax, which the author says kmail is included on the CD but can't be found; a promising option would have been the Linux Magazine distro but there is nothing but a FAQ available on their site and no download to be found anywhere on the net; Damn Small, Flonix, Morphix Combined Lite GUI, MiniCD and a few others. So far, other than a few of the distros having issues booting correctly none include the combination of KDE, KMail, and Konqueror.

Are there ANY distros that include this combination of software under 200MBs?

I am not a programmer, am a linux newbie, and do not yet grasp the concept of making customizations and remastering.

Any advice would be appreciated.

monkymind
01-02-2004, 08:18 AM
I am looking to use a Mini 200MB disk livecd for use when I am away from home and general purpose internet apps like email and net browsing. I have spent most of the day downloading various "mini" versions of Knoppix and am quite pleased with MiniKnoppix 2.0 with the exception that it does not include KMail.

I have tried Slax, which the author says kmail is included on the CD but can't be found;

Are there ANY distros that include this combination of software under 200MBs?

Try the previous version of Slax, it has kmail etc :-
http://files.linuxforum.com/d1/live-distros/slackware-live/slackware-live-2.9.0.22.iso

regards
rob

HateSpitLove
01-02-2004, 08:26 AM
Thanx! I'll check it out.

gyro
01-02-2004, 10:08 PM
try " damn small linux" its 50 meg and runs fast from : damnsmalllinux.org

arkaine23
01-02-2004, 10:48 PM