PDA

View Full Version : HOW TO SAVE YOUR CONFIGURATION! attn pls 8-)

sepht
02-08-2003, 07:35 PM
I am trying like hell to save my prefs too.
Okay it is nice to know that the config dialogue is WRONG and that
it should be floppyconfig and not just floppyconf. Y'know, you'd think that the main faq's that come with the disk would mention this, instead of having to sleuth it out. It is kinda IMPORTANT guys.
When I look at the file created on the bootdisk, it mentions in the few lines that I see that I don't have root permissions. When booting it does say it is executing the file properly. But apparently the file itself 'knoppix.sh', doesn't agree that I should be able to modify the configuration so it is futile.
I am a complete newbie (obviously).
Can anyone please help. My mind has been blown by this OS. I'm telling everyone about it. Just need some good straight advice. Is there any FANTASTIC site for linux/knoppix info that is accessible to laymen such as myself?
Muchos gracias all
~S~

Sucker
02-09-2003, 01:31 AM
save your configurations to a floppy disk

god
02-09-2003, 01:55 AM
when I did that, and then used the knoppix boot command to boot from the floppy, it was the same as the no-floppy boot.... the desktop was different, and the settings on every thing (screen savers ) were back to the original...

one question can you save xserver settings to floppy and have them be loaded at boot? assuming i can figure out the floppy boot...

sepht
02-09-2003, 02:39 AM
I thought it was obvious that I have made the boot disk numerous times and each time it goes back to defaults from cd even though I can see it accessing the a drive bootdisk file during bootup.
????????????
I have checked off all 5 options, not just the 'save desktop' that is default ticked.
~S~

Sucker
02-09-2003, 05:37 PM