PDA

View Full Version : How do you change the screen resolution?

god
02-09-2003, 08:04 PM
I am getting a bit peeved with knoppix.... my 2 problems, cant save settings, (not too important) and cant change screen resolutions. I am stuck at 800x600. The CTRL+ALT <=/-> trick only magifies the screen, rather than actually changing the resolution. I used xf86config and nothing changes. I am a linux newbie, and would like some help with that in mind.

thanks everyone.

god
02-10-2003, 01:36 AM
bump....

this seems like it should be fairly simple to do.. I just have no clue what to do.

Knoppix does not include XFree86Setup, and I did not seem to be able to get xf86config to configure correctly...

Dave_Bechtel
02-10-2003, 05:48 AM
--Did you try boot: ' fb1024x768 ' or any other cheat codes? What video card and monitor are you using?

I am getting a bit peeved with knoppix.... my 2 problems, cant save settings, (not too important) and cant change screen resolutions. I am stuck at 800x600. The CTRL+ALT <=/-> trick only magifies the screen, rather than actually changing the resolution. I used xf86config and nothing changes. I am a linux newbie, and would like some help with that in mind.

thanks everyone.

god
02-10-2003, 05:59 AM
[quote="Dave_Bechtel"]--Did you try boot: ' fb1024x768 ' or any other cheat codes? What video card and monitor are you using?

I used all the cheatcodes I could get my hands on...

I am using a Dell ultrasharp 17 inch (1702 FP) with an nvidia 4200 card. I need the code "knoppix xmodule=vesa" to even get a picture, the standard "nv" modules appear to not work in combination with my monitor, (manual says vesa mode only accepted)

Thanks for any help, in advance....

JetCowBoB
02-11-2003, 03:15 AM
[quote=Dave_Bechtel]--Did you try boot: ' fb1024x768 ' or any other cheat codes? What video card and monitor are you using?

I used all the cheatcodes I could get my hands on...