PDA

View Full Version : Knoppix Knewbie Kneeds help with Knetworking

larryd
01-14-2004, 12:00 AM
(Sorry for the subject line, I couldn't resist!)

I am new to Knoppix and was wondering if there was a simple tutorial or help section on setting up a simple home network. I currently have three XP Home machines networked.
If I run Knoppix from the CD, is there a way to set up the network so that each time I boot to Knoppix the network is set up, or would it need to be reestablished each time I boot.
Thanks!

arkaine23
01-14-2004, 12:10 AM
You could write a smbmount script to mount those network shares, save it in /home/knoppix/.kde/Autostart. You'd have to make a persistent home on a usb pen or a hard drive or install knoppix to your hard drive if you wanted it to save across a reboot.

larryd
01-14-2004, 12:16 AM
Huh?
Sorry, I should have added that I am an intermediate user (that is, I like the Windows Wizards!)
Can you point me in the direction of an easy to understand explanation (I haven't found it yet)
Thanks!

arkaine23
01-14-2004, 12:41 AM
Welcome to Linux!

samba is a service much like windows networking which allows linux to share its files out to windows. smbmount is a shell command used for mounting a windows or samba share from another computer. A script is a simple program.

For example:

#!/bin/sh
mkdir /mnt/share1
sudo smbmount //hostname/sharename /mnt/share1 -o username=remoteusername

Save something like that as a text file. For this example, I'll name the file sambascript.

Run this command on it:

chmod +x sambascript

^ That makes it executable.

Now this simple example will create a folder called /mnt/share1 in ramdisk. This folder will link to a windows share on another computer. In the example script hostname is the name of the windopws computer, sharename is the name of the share, and remoteusername is the name of the user to conenct as.