PDA

View Full Version : How do you change BIOS?

chaoszero118
01-14-2004, 10:47 PM
I am new to linux, I've never even touched a machine that had it running and was hoping to try. I decided Knoppix because of it's simplicity and how I could just run it from the disk. Though it doesn't boot when I restart my comp with the disk I have the .ISO file in, it doesn't load, but I realize now that I probably have to change the BIOS, I am comfused though, because it doesn't label the drives as C:\ , D:\ , E:\ etc. I am running windows XP and have two disk drives aside from the floppy and the hard drive. The system i am running is a Dell Dimension 8200 desktop. Does anyone know how to do this?

baldyeti
01-14-2004, 10:53 PM
The cd should not just show as one big .iso file. Once burnt, you should see several files (eg index.html) at the top level, and a knoppix directory with a huge (+/- 690 Mb) KNOPPIX file in it. If that's what you're seeing, you may indeed have to set your cdrom as the first bootable device in your BIOS configuration.

fingers99
01-14-2004, 11:14 PM
It looks like you've just burnt a CD with the iso in it as a file. What you should be doing is to simply burn the iso to CD as an image.

http://www.linuxiso.org/viewdoc.php/howtoburn.html

has pretty good instructions.

Once you've done that, reboot the computer and a little message should tell you what key to press to get into the bios: often it's the "Delete" key.

Once there, just set the bios to "bios defaults" and to boot first from CD, and you should be there.

rudiz
01-15-2004, 12:04 AM
or F1

ec
01-15-2004, 12:55 AM
:lol: