PDA

View Full Version : CD ROM not accesible after hdinstall, thank u!

ricardomardi
01-15-2004, 03:03 PM
I love knoppix, & I'm a complete noobie, I tried to go through all the posts to find an answer b4 I posted now.

I installed Knoppix to my 40GB hdd but
my CD rom is not accesible, I can see the desktop icon for it but when I click it tells me that it doesn't exist.

I know it's just not pointing to the correct device, but I don't know how exactly to correct this, I woould be extremely greatfull if anyone can show me how to fix this.

I love Linux more every day, & I want to help others install it onto their PCs, but I have to do some hard work & learn as fast as I can.

Thank you in advance!

R.

violinist
01-15-2004, 07:38 PM
can you tell more about your hardware setup?
i.e:
do you have one cd-rom drive?
is it scsi or ide?
give a look at /etc/fstab for a cdrom entry

and last:
did you put a cd in the drive? :)

give more details and we will try to help

fingers99
01-15-2004, 07:45 PM
Can you post your /etc/fstab?

johnb
01-17-2004, 04:12 AM
Try:

mkdesktophdicons -s -v

johnb

ricardomardi
01-17-2004, 01:50 PM
Hi All, Thank you so much for trying to help, sorry for the delay:
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~
Violinist, I've got 2x IDE CD ROms hooked up to an Asus board with an Athlon XP 1500 cpu. One of my CD ROMs is a slave to my 40GB HDD.

Sure, I did check I had a CD inside the CD ROMs, the msg I get when I click on the CD ROM icon is:

"Unable to run the command specified. The file or directory file:/mnt/cdrom does not exist."

I've installed knoppix on 4x different PCs & all had the same issue above.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~

HI Fingers!! Thank you for your help, here's what you asked me to do:

# /etc/fstab: filesystem table.
#
# filesystem mountpoint type options dump pass
/dev/hda2 / ext2 defaults,errors=remount-ro 0 1
/dev/hda5 none swap sw 0 0
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0