PDA

View Full Version : Internal modem; anyone get one to work???

The Fader
01-17-2004, 08:35 AM
A friend heard me kvetching about the difficulty of getting WIN XP working on my new Athlon machine and handed me a Knoppix 2.0 CD. I ran it and was pleasantly surprised by the experience, so I sez "why not try going online??" I used the setup wizard (actually "dialog")but kept getting "modem busy" (after it started by saying "modem ready").

BTW, In WIN, I'm on Com3 so I was configuring it (in the dialog) as ttyS2. I tried other tty settings with no luck and dev/modem (or whatever, I'm a real newbie, obviously) was even worse.

Anyway, I went back to WIN and then online and found this forum through a link from knoppix.org. I've searched on various terms and found discouraging posts, but I figured I'd see if anything new has been discovered :-)

This modem is branded a Broadxent (by Creative) and that's how WIN98 PnP had it listed. However, WinXP shows it as an ESS ES56T-PI data fax modem, and that's how it responds to a query, so I suppose that's its real identity. I found some posts about a similar ESS modem and they were speculating that it was a Winmodem. No one said for sure that it was, but I reckon that I'd better accept that as bad news.

Is there any hope to get this thing working in Linux??? In Knoppix?

Your wisdom is eagerly sought.

Cheers/Fader

agency
01-17-2004, 11:03 AM
Can you talk to the modem with minicom? I can't think of the site but there is a program that should detect your modem. I used it on my Aopen fm56 PX modem and then downloaded drivers from Linuxant. The drivers worked but their limited to 14k or something. For the price of the full driver you can get a serial modem at pcimicro, for $18.

I would suggest getting a cheap serial modem. It's not worth the hassle to mess with these internal modems IMHO...if you plan on getting serious with linux. And for me internet access is a make or break issue if I was to switch.

agency