PDA

View Full Version : Knoppix or Libranet???

The Fader
01-18-2004, 03:58 PM
Newbie here.

I have both Knoppix 3.3 2003 11/19 and Libranet 2.7 "Classic".

I've read Distrowatches reports on both and a selection of reviews. Both distros seem knoble I can find knothing that makes either choice overpowering.

As I understand, either will give me a live and official Debian install and if I feel that I'm missing anything important, I can get it from Debian via apt and it will install just fine. Is that correct?

Anyone have any reasons why one or the other would be better? I realize I'm on a Knoppix forum and there's likely to be some enthusiam for the home team, but bring it on :-) I've got hdb1 and hda5 just waiting.

I do knotice that this forum is much more active than that on Libranet.

TIA/The Fader

Cuddles
01-18-2004, 04:42 PM
The Fader,

No bias here... I was tossed, back about four weeks ago, on similar subjects.

I was tossing around Knoppix, Red Hat, Mandrake, Debian, and sorry to say, I just heard about Libranet, so it wasn't in my running thoughts.

I was leaning on the Mandrake 9.2, oh, by the way, you are correct about the apt-get, if you can find it, you can get it - pretty simple in fact. ( done many of them, with games, screensavers, etc... :D )

I had the Knoppix 3.2 Live CD, from a friend, and only knew one thing: I was going to instal on my new system, some form of Linux. ( I was floored by the Live CD )

I was having my new system "specialy built" to run some form of Linux, trying not to get hard-wired motherboard devices, not supported by Linux (flavors), and buying the "hardware" equivalents that DID run in it.

Deciding factor, for me, was that I HAD knoppix in hand, already. I even got the guy at the computer hardware store to download and burn a Knoppix 3.3 for me :shock: