PDA

View Full Version : Lost power! Now users are locked out.

RobertB
01-20-2004, 05:09 PM
I've installed Knoppix to the hard drive -- and I'd just gotten my wife convinced that Linux wasn't so bad. In fact, she just beat level 100 on Frozen Bubble, her "killer app". :) I was adjusting my Knoppix box's date/time settings, and I think I had just hit "ok" when poof! The circuit breaker tripped and I lost power.

When I brought the box back up, fsck reported problems that couldn't be fixed automatically. I'm a newbie, so I did what it said -- ran fsck without any options and answered "y" to all the errors it reported. I had to do this twice before Linux would stop complaining.

Now, root works fine, but all other logins appear to be out of commission.

I'm running KDE, and when I log in as anything but root, the system grinds around for a while and then goes right back to the login selection dialog. I even created a new user... same result.

Any suggestions for getting back the lost users? I'd rather the rest of the family not log in as root to play Frozen Bubble...

baldyeti
01-20-2004, 05:18 PM
Can you login using those accounts from a console session (say Ctl-Alt-F4) ? If yes, then the accounts/passwords should be OK. It might just be KDE's setttings that were corrupted. I'd then suggest renaming the .kde and .kde2 directories to something else, and on the next graphical login, a default KDE profile should be created for said user. Good luck.

Dave_Bechtel
01-21-2004, 03:27 AM
--Why in the world did you pick a non-journalled filesystem? Find the frozen-bubble high score file, back it up, then:

o Reinstall the system afresh, to an ext3 or reiserfs filesystem

o Restore the frozen-bubble highscore file so your wife doesn't KILL you

o Once you have the system back up and working right, BACK IT UP.

o Optional, but highly recommended: Buy a UPS.

o Sorry, I looked around my system a bit but I don't know what the FB highscore filename is. :roll: